January 22, 2021

The Department of Energy recently announced recipients of the Secretary’s Honor Awards which recognize DOE employees and contractors for their service and contributions to the department’s mission and the country’s benefit.

Among the recipients, DOE recognized 31 NAC International team members for their work on the National Research Universal (NRU) and National Research Experimental (NRX) High-Enriched Uranium (HEU) Removal Team, a project under the auspice DOE’s National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA). The project involved transferring spent nuclear fuel from two research reactors at the Chalk River site in Ontario to the DOE Savannah River Site in South Carolina.

Completed in 2019, this project was the largest spent fuel transfer in the history of NNSA’s nuclear material removal program.

“NAC is proud to announce that several NAC employees and subcontractors have recently received the DOE Secretary’s Honor Awards for their contribution to a major Spent Fuel Transportation project in support of U.S. nuclear nonproliferation efforts,” said NAC CEO Kent Cole. “We congratulate the award recipients, and we are proud of their contribution to this landmark project and service to our nation.”

The recipients of this award include the following NAC employees: Jamie Adam, Bill Barrett, Frank Cardenas, George Carver, Kent Cole, Charlie Ferguson, Wren Fowler, Brad Greene, David Jensen, Kevin Klein, Donald Kurtz, Alan Lin, Mike Miles, Holger Pfeifer, Vadim Shtylman, Juan Subiry, Jimmy Toliuszis, Mike Yaksh, and Christine Wang. In addition, the following recipients were contracted as part of the NAC team: Roy Boyd, Mathew King, Mark McDermott, Twyla McDermott, Michael Mosley, Bill Park, Sherry Park, Sue Wells, Tom Wells, Blake Williams, Walt Yauch and Zach Yauch.